Skip to Main Content
Have library access? Log in through your library
The Collected Poems of Robert Creeley, 1975–2005

The Collected Poems of Robert Creeley, 1975–2005

Robert Creeley
Copyright Date: 2006
Edition: 1
Pages: 677
  • Cite this Item
  • Book Info
    The Collected Poems of Robert Creeley, 1975–2005
    Book Description:

    This definitive collection showcases thirty years of work by one of the most significant American poets of the twentieth century, bringing together verse that originally appeared in eight acclaimed books of poetry ranging fromHello: A Journal(1978) toLife & Death(1998) andIf I were writing this(2003). Robert Creeley, who was involved with the publication of this volume before his death in 2005, helped define an emerging counter-tradition to the prevailing literary establishment-the new postwar poetry originating with Ezra Pound, William Carlos Williams, and Louis Zukofsky and expanding through the lives and works of Charles Olson, Robert Duncan, Allen Ginsberg, Denise Levertov, and others.The Collected Poems of Robert Creeley, 1975-2005will stand together withThe Collected Poems of Robert Creeley, 1975-2000as essential reading for anyone interested in twentieth-century American poetry.

    eISBN: 978-0-520-94167-0
    Subjects: Language & Literature

Table of Contents

  1. Front Matter
    (pp. i-iv)
  2. Table of Contents
    (pp. v-vi)
  3. Note
    (pp. vii-viii)
  4. Preface: Old Poetry
    (pp. ix-xii)
  5. Author’s Note
    (pp. xiii-2)
    R. C.
  6. Hello: A Journal, February 29–May 3, 1976
    (pp. 3-92)
  7. Later
    (pp. 93-186)
  8. Mirrors
    (pp. 187-238)
  9. Memory Gardens
    (pp. 239-288)
  10. Windows
    (pp. 289-386)
  11. Echoes
    (pp. 387-464)
  12. Life & Death
    (pp. 465-532)
  13. If I were writing this
    (pp. 533-602)
  14. On Earth
    (pp. 603-634)
  15. Unpublished Poems
    (pp. 635-638)
  16. Credits
    (pp. 639-642)
  17. Index of Titles and First Lines
    (pp. 643-663)
  18. Back Matter
    (pp. 664-664)