Foreword by W. S. Merwin
Copyright Date: 2002
Published by: Yale University Press
Pages: 96
  • Cite this Item
  • Book Info
    Book Description:

    This year's winner of the Yale Series of Younger Poets competition is Sean Singer'sDiscography. Playful, experimental, jazz-influenced, the poems in this book delight in sound and approach the more abstract pleasures of music. Singer takes as his subjects music, jazz figures, and historical events. Series judge W. S. Merwin praises Singer for his "roving demands on his language" and "the quick-changes of his invention in search of some provisional rightness."

    eISBN: 978-0-300-12855-0
    Subjects: Language & Literature

Table of Contents

  1. Front Matter
    (pp. i-vi)
  2. Table of Contents
    (pp. vii-viii)
  3. Foreword
    (pp. ix-xii)
    W.S. Merwin

    Sean Singer’s restless, roving demands upon his language, the quick-changes of his invention in search of some provisional rightness, convey through all their metamorphoses an insistent ring of authenticity that seizes the attention and may remind us that the true sense of the word “original” has to do with the origins of a work and of the talent that produced it: with those sources and impulses that are at once individual and universal, unsounded, irreducible and undeniable.

    We may note this at the very beginning of this group of poems, in “The Old Record,” with its jerky, arbitrary typographical breaks,...

  4. Acknowledgments
    (pp. xiii-xiv)
  5. Notes
    (pp. 81-82)